Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads aiteo  

UEFA Fines PSG, Juve, Milan, Inter, Roma, Three Others For FFP Violations

UEFA fines clubs for FFP violations

September 02, (THEWILL) – Eight clubs have been penalised for Financial Fair Play violations over the past five years, according to UEFA.

Teams that participated in UEFA events the previous season were scrutinised for the fiscal years between 2018 and 2022, though the fiscal years 2020 and 2021 were combined into one due to COVID-19 emergency measures.

Eight teams were slammed with fines for failing to meet their break-even requirements, with Monaco ($0.3 million), Marseille ($0.3 million), Besiktas ($0.6 million), AC Milan ($2 million), Juventus ($3.5 million), Inter ($4 million), Roma ($5 million), and PSG ($10 million) each ordered to make immediate payments or have these sums deducted from their prize money for the remainder of this season.

There is the likelihood of further punishment if the clubs do not break, with PSG set to receive the harshest penalty—an additional €55 million payment. However, UEFA determined that teams from England and Spain met their requirements and would not be penalised.

In all, 19 clubs, including Borussia Dortmund, Chelsea, Barcelona, Basel, Union Berlin, Fenerbahce, Feyenoord, Leicester City, Manchester City, Lyon, Rangers, Real Betis, Royal Antwerp, Sevilla, Lazio, Napoli, Trabzonspor, Wolfsburg, and West Ham United, had been put on a watchlist because they either barely met their requirements or “benefited from positive break-even results.”