Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads aiteo  

Senate Confirms 7 New Commissioners For ICPC


January 25, (THEWILL) – The Senate has confirmed the appointment of seven nominees as Commissioners for the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

The names of the Commissioners were submitted to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari, for confirmation last week.

Their appointment was confirmed after a report of the Senate Committee on Anti-corruption and Financial Crimes was considered at plenary on Tuesday.

Senator Suleiman Abdul Kwari (APC – Kaduna North), Chairman of the Committee, while presenting the report, said the Committee recommended that the nominees be approved.

The names of the approved Commissioners are Justice Adamu Bello (rtd) from Katsina State to represent North West; Hannatu Mohammed (Jigawa state) to represent North West and Mrs Olubukola Balogun (rtd) from Lagos State to represent South West.

Others are Dr. Grace Nkechiyere Chinda from Delta State to represent South-South; Barr. Obiora Samuel Igwedibia from Anambra State to represent South East; and Abdullahi Maikano from Niger state to represent North Central.

Prince Dauda Yahaya Umar from Nasarawa State will also represent North Central in the Commission.