Suspect Slumps As Court Grants Bail To 14 Aides Of Rochas Okorocha

BEVERLY HILLS, February 22, (THEWILL) – Owerri Magistrate Court 4, presided over by her Lordship, B.U. Adikaibe, has granted bail in the total sum of N70 million to 14 aides of former Imo State Governor, Senator Rochas Okorocha.

When the Magistrate, B.U. Adikaibe, returned to the courtroom do deliver her ruling, a suspect, Ibekwe, slumped.

He was however, revived by his fellow suspects, who pleaded for water with which he was revived.

The 14 loyalists of Senator Okorocha were accused of conspiring among themselves to remove the seal of the state government and entering into the sealed premises of Royal Spring Palm Hotel and Apartments belonging to Okorocha.

Police Prosecutor, M. A Omo-Osagie, told the court that Okorocha’s former appointees, Lasbery Okaforanyanwu, Ijeoma Igboanusi and his son in-laws, Uche Nwosu and Dr. Uzoma Anwuka, were at large.

However, one of the 14 suspects, Darlington Ibekwe, was also accused of publishing a recorded defamatory matter on social media with intent to injure the reputation of the state government and the person of Governor Hope Uzodimma by exposing to hatred, contempt, ridicule and damage his reputation, Olu Chizoba was charged with unlawful possession of a double barrel pump action gun without license.

After a six-count charge was read to the suspects, counsel to the defendants, Eddy Onyema, sought their bail, assuring that they would return to the court to take their trial.

Onyema noted that none of the charges against the defendants was a capital offence, adding, “worst, some of them are felony. That’s why we’re seeking for their bail.”

After the incident, the court had without delay given its ruling by granting all 14 accused persons bail with N5 million each totaling N70 million, a condition the court said must be fulfilled before they would regain their freedom.

Those arraigned with Ibekwe included Obasi Goodluck, Nwaiwu Ndubuisi, Median Ijeoma, Obor Victor, Ucheka Claudin, Sunday Chisom and Ekpendu Peace.

Others were Nev F. Raphael, Basil Mba, Steve Asimobi, Ebere Nwokeji, Eberendu Chimechifulam and Olu Chizoba.