PDP National Chair Aspirants Agree To Work Together As Governors Back Convention

Governor Ayodele Fayose.

SAN FRANCISCO, November 13, (THEWILL) – The eight contenders for the National Chairmanship of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, have agreed to work with whoever emerges amongst them at the party’s December 9, 2017 elective congress.

Chairman of PDP Governors Forum, Gov. Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti, made the disclosure at a news briefing on Monday after a five hour closed door meeting of the governors in Enugu.

Fayose said that the governors met to deliberate on the forthcoming national convention and discussed with the chairmanship aspirants saying the forthcoming PDP convention will serve as template for future conventions in the country.

“We put PDP first and PDP is first. We are leaving Enugu believing that we will take power at the centre in 2019,” he said.

Fayose, flanked by other PDP governors, expressed the belief that the party would win the November 18 governorship poll in Anambra.

“We believe we will take over Anambra if the election is free, fair and credible. Nigeria is of age to conduct election that is acceptable internationally,” he said.

Governors at the meeting were, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu; Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia; Darius Ishaku of Taraba; and Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe.

Others were Emmanuel Udom of Akwa-Ibom; Ben Ayade of Cross River; ifeanyi Okowa of Delta; Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa; Nyesom Wike of River.

Ebonyi was represented by the deputy governor while former governors Gabriel Suswam of Benue and Godswill Akpabio of Akwa-Ibom were in attendance.

The meeting was also attended by former External Affairs Minister, Tom Ikimi; Kema Chikwe; former Senate President Adolpus Wabara; and incumbent Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.

THEWILL notes that the eight chairmanship aspirants are: Bode George, Jimi Agbaje, Taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran, Rasheed Ladoja, Gbenga Daniel, Raymond Dokpesi and Uche Secondus.

Facebook Comments