Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


One Killed As Sporadic Gunshot Rocks Bayelsa PDP Assembly Primaries


May 22, (THEWILL) – One person identified as a supporter of the PDP, Michael Isaiah, alias Tompolo, was shot dead in constituency 1 of Ogbia Local Government during the conduct of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) State House of Assembly primaries in the 24 constituencies of the State.

THEWILL gathered that the incident, which occurred at about 4pm, was instigated during an argument over the authenticity of the delegate list to be used for voting between Hon Richard Ibegu and Jonathan Azibalamawal.

The constituency 1 seat, which was previously occupied by Hon. Mieteme Obodo and now the Federal House of Representatives aspirant for primaries slated for tomorrow.

A former Commissioner of Information and strategy and leading aspirant for the Ogbia Federal Constituency ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Daniel Iworiso-Markson, has condemned the murder of one Michael Isaiah, alias Tompolo, during the primary election of the party in Ogbia.​

Iworiso-Markson in a statement released in Yenagoa, said the killing of Isaiah was barbaric and sad, stating that nobody’s life is worth taking for any political office.​

He called on security agents to go after the killers and their desperate sponsors, insisting that those responsible must not go unpunished.​

However in other constituencies, the primaries were peaceful with many new faces emerging as candidates of the party in the state.

A former Deputy Chief of Staff during the administration of Chief Seriake Dickson, Mrs Ebizi Ndiomu Brown, was declared winner of the Sagbama Constituency 3 Primaries and Hon. Pamoh Werinipre​ emerged Winner of the Kolokuma-Opokuma Constituency 1 in the State House of Assembly Primaries.

An incumbent, Hon. Gibson Munalayefa won the Ogbia Constituency 2 PDP Assembly Primaries, while Chief Macdonald Igbadiwei won the Southern Ijaw Constituency 4 PDP Assembly Primaries.

Hon. Ted Elemeforo was declared Winner of the just concluded PDP primaries in Yenagoa Constituency 3, with 8 votes to 4​ votes of his opponent Odeinyefa Ogbolosingha.

In Ekeremor constituency 1, Hon (Barr) Tare Porri was returned unopposed after his co-aspirant withdrew voluntarily from the race. Hon Moses Marlon​ emerged winner of the Southern Ijaw Constituency 3 in the State House of Assembly Primaries.

Also Hon (Mrs) Ebiuwou Obiyai, an incumbent emerged winner of the Yenagoa Constituency 2 in the State House of Assembly Primaries. Hon. Hon Felix Bonny Aya also emerged winner as Southern Ijaw Constituency 1 flag bearer.

Hon. Chief Ayibanegiyefa Egba​ returned unopposed in PDP Yenagoa Constituency 1 and Hon. Gabriel Michael Ogbara​, emerged winner as Ogbia Constituency 3 Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

A one time speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon. Monday Obolo Bubou​, also won the PDP ticket for the Southern Ijaw Constituency-2 seat. Obolo scored all 6 Ad-Hoc Delegates votes. Hon. Bernard Kenebai emerged winner of the Sagbama Constituency 2 in the State House of Assembly Primaries.