Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


NBA Reveals Full List Of Top 75 Players To Celebrate 75th Anniversary

NBA-75 Team

October 22, (THEWILL) – With its celebration of its 75th anniversary this season, the National Basketball Association (NBA) has officially unveiled its full list of the top 75 players in league history.

Damian Lillard, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, James Harden, LeBron James, Chris Paul, Russell Westbrook, Stephen Curry, Anthony Davis, and Kawhi Leonard were among the current players who made the team.

THEWILL recalls that at halftime of the 1997 NBA All-Star Game, the league unveiled the top 50 players of all time, with 47 of them receiving personal recognition. At the 2022 All-Star Game in Cleveland, a similar ceremony will be held for the current team.

Ray Allen, Antetokounmpo, Anthony, Kobe Bryant, Curry, Davis, Tim Duncan, Durant, Kevin Garnett, Harden, Allen Iverson, James, Jason Kidd, Leonard, Lillard, Reggie Miller, Steve Nash, Dirk Nowitzki, Paul, Gary Payton, Paul Pierce, Dennis Rodman, Dwyane Wade, Westbrook, and Dominique Wilkins are new members who were not previously selected for the top 50.

Dwight Howard was the obvious snub among those who did not make the cut, but he has done serious damage to his reputation and place in the game’s lore over the last eight seasons, with both waning production (which is natural as a player ages) and his off-court struggles.

Klay Thompson, a three-time champion, five-time All-Star, and one of the greatest shooters of all time was another name left out. This could possibly be because of the two seasons he missed due to devastating injuries. The same can be the case of Tracy McGrady, the prolific scorer, who led the league in scoring twice and was a

seven-time All-Star.

A panel of media members, current and former players, coaches, and team executives selected the NBA 75th anniversary team. The league did not reveal the results of the voting.

Those listed include:

1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

2. Ray Allen

3. Giannis Antetokounmpo

4. Carmelo Anthony

5. Nate Archibald

6. Paul Arizin

7. Charles Barkley

8. Rick Barry

9. Elgin Baylor

10. Dave Bing

11. Larry Bird

12. Kobe Bryant

13. Wilt Chamberlain

14. Bob Cousy

15. Dave Cowens

16. Billy Cunningham

17. Stephen Curry

18. Anthony Davis

19. Dave DeBusschere

20. Clyde Drexler

21. Tim Duncan

22. Kevin Durant

23. Julius Erving

24. Patrick Ewing

25. Walt Frazier

26. Kevin Garnett

27. George Gervin

28. Hal Greer

29. James Harden

30. John Havlicek

31. Elvin Hayes

32. Allen Iverson

33. LeBron James

34. Magic Johnson

35. Sam Jones

36. Michael Jordan

37. Jason Kidd

38. Kawhi Leonard

39. Damian Lillard

40. Jerry Lucas

41. Karl Malone

42. Moses Malone

43. Pete Maravich

44. Bob McAdoo

45. Kevin McHale

46. George Mikan

47. Reggie Miller

48. Earl Monroe

49. Steve Nash

50. Dirk Nowitzki

51. Hakeem Olajuwon

52. Shaquille O’Neal

53. Robert Parish

54. Chris Paul

55. Gary Payton

56. Bob Pettit

57. Paul Pierce

58. Scottie Pippen

59. Willis Reed

60. Oscar Robertson

61. David Robinson

62. Dennis Rodman

63. Bill Russell

64. Dolph Schayes

65. Bill Sharman

66. John Stockton

67. Isiah Thomas

68. Nate Thurmond

69. Wes Unseld

70. Dwyane Wade

71. Bill Walton

72. Jerry West

73. Russell Westbrook

74. Lenny Wilkens

75. Dominique Wilkins

76. James Worthy

(Note: These are not rankings. The players are listed in alphabetical order. As a result of a tie, the team features 76 players.)