NASS Inauguration: 107 Senators Present, Quorum Met

BEVERLY HILLS, June 11, (THEWILL) – The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, has announced that 107 Senators-elect are physically present at the inauguration of the 9th Senate.

He made this known on Tuesday morning following the painstaking roll call of all senators-elect on a state-by-state basis.

The clerk added that with the number, quorum has been met and the business of the day can proceed.

The Senate includes three senators from each of the 36 states, plus one senator for the Federal Capital Territory.

The Senate President is the head of the house and is assisted by the Deputy Senate President. Both are expected to be elected in a few minutes.

The Senate President and his Deputy also work with the Principal Officers in the house including the Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip.

Facebook Comments