Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


Ministerial Screening: Akpabio, Akume Five Other Ex-Senators Take A Bow

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan

SAN FRANCISCO, July 24, (THEWILL) – Senate President Ahmed Lawan has stated that all seven former senators who have been nominated for ministerial appointment will not be questioned but allowed to “take a bow”.

Lawan said this at the ongoing ministerial screening at the Senate on Wednesday.

The former senators include Godswill Akpabio, Gbemisola Saraki, Hadi Sirika, George Akume, Olorunnimbe Mamora, Chris Ngige and Tayo Alasoadura.

A serving House of Representatives member, Emeka Nwajuiba, also falls into the category of those that will be allowed to “take a bow”.

The Senate President said the move was part of the longstanding tradition of the Senate that all former lawmakers nominated for appointments are given automatic endorsement.

Akpabio and Akume were asked to “take a bow” and leave in when they appeared for screening.

Attempts by Akwa Ibom North-East lawmaker, Senator Albert Bassey, to make a comment on Akpabio’s nomination were rejected by the Senate President.