Imo Speaker, Seven PDP Lawmakers Defect To APC

Collins Chiji

BEVERLY HILLS, January 28, (THEWILL) – Speaker of the Imo state House of Assembly, Dr Collins Chiji on Tuesday announced his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Chiji made the announcement during the plenary session of the house as he announced the defection of seven other lawmakers from the PDP to the APC.

The lawmakers are Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Michael Njoku (Ihitte Uboma) and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

Imo PDP Chairman Dumps Party For APC

The new defection brings the total number of APC lawmakers from ten to 18, with the defection of nine lawmakers on Tuesday, January 21, 2019.

The APC has now become the majority in the house while the main opposition PDP is left with eight members.