Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


Igbo Business Captains Vow Billions In Donations To PDP, APC For South-East Presidential Candidate

September 15, (THEWILL) – Igbo residents of Lekki, Banana Island and environs have vowed to make billions of naira in donations to support any of the two leading parties that zones the 2023 presidency to the South-East.

In addition, the young Igbo entrepreneurs short-listed potential candidates of Igbo extraction, in a list that includes the Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, Professor Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, former Senate President Anyim Pius Anyim, Senate Minority Leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Nnia John Nwodo Jnr and former PDP Vice Presidential Candidate, Peter Obi.

President of Umunna Lekki Association, Ikem Umeh-Ezeoke, in a statement on Tuesday, released the group’s list of eminent Igbo sons and daughters, saying each of them has the capacity to take the country to greater heights.

According to the group, donations in billions of naira have been earmarked for the nation’s two leading political parties, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) should either nominate an Igbo Presidential Candidate in 2023.

Umunna Lekki Association is made up of young Igbo entrepreneurs, with membership from homeowners and property owners in several highbrow areas of Lagos Island, including: Lekki, Ikoyi, Banana Island, Victoria Garden City (VGC) and Victoria Island axis of Lagos state.

Apparently reacting to insinuations from some quarters that the zone had no candidate capable of steering the nation’s affairs come 2023, the group gave a list of possible presidential candidates from the five states of the South-East geopolitical zone.


Professor Ngozi Okonji Iweala

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe

Ex-Governor Orji Uzoh Kalu


Ex-Governor Peter Obi

Mr. Charles Udeogaranya

Senator Ben Obi

Mr. Henry Okolie-Aboh


Governor Dave Umahi

Dr. Ogbonnaya Onuh

Senator Anyim Pius Anyim


Ambassador Geoffrey Onyema

Professor Barth Nnaji

Nnia John Nwodo Jnr

Senator Ike Ekweremadu


Rt. Honourable Emeka Ihedioha

Senator Rochas Okorocha

Ambassador Kema Chikwe

Chief Humphrey Anumudu