Election Begins As Reps Elect Speaker

BEVERLY HILLS, June 11, (THEWILL) – All is now set for members-elect of the 9th House of Representatives to elect presiding officers to pilot their affairs for the next four years.

A total of 360 members are expected to cast their votes for their most preferred candidate.

The race for the speakership is a straight fight between former house leader Femi Gbajabiamila (Lagos, APC) and Umar Bago (Niger, APC).

Hon Abdulmumin Jibrin (Kano APC) nominated Gbajabiamila for the position of speaker while Linda Ikpeazu, a proud member of the PDP, seconded the nomination.

Abubakar Ahmad (Gombe, APC) nominateed Bago seconded by Mark Gbilah (Benue, PDP).

Gbajabiamila enjoys the support of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which declared him as its preferred candidate.

On the other hand, Bago enjoys the backing of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The APC, however, has a majority of members, closely followed by the PDP. The gap between the two parties is about 40 members.

Meanwhile, there was a brief suspension of voting due to protest over a breach of the secrecy of the voting by a lawmaker who took pictures of his vote.

The issue was laid to rest as the Clerk ruled that the lawmakers were to conduct themselves and cast their vote freely.