Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


Defection Wave Hits House Of Reps As 37 Members Dump APC

SAN FRANCISCO, July 24, (THEWILL) – A total of 37 members of the House of Representatives have defected from Nigeria’s ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to other parties.

Of this number, 32 joined the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), four joined the African Democratic Congress (ADC) while one announced he was also leaving the APC but did not state his new party.

Announcing their defection on Tuesday during plenary, the first 36 lawmakers cited division at all levels of the APC as the reason for their defection.

Prominent among the defectors are Sani Rano, Barry Mpigi, Ali Madaki, Dickson Tackighir, Hassan Saleh, Danburam Nuhu, Mark Gbilah, Razak Atunwa, Ahmed Bichi, Abdulsamad Dasuki and Zakari Mohammed.

However, neither the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, nor his deputy, Yusuff Lasun, was named among the defectors.

Few minutes after the 36 announced their defection, the Chairman of the House of Representatives Rules and Business, Orker Jev, announced he was also resigning from the APC.

He cited division in the APC as his reason for leaving the party. He however did not announce the party he is moving to.

THEWILL recalls that 15 Senators had earlier in the day announced their defection from the APC, majority moving to the PDP.

It was also gathered that members of the PDP, basking in the euphoria of the harvest, taunted Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, the Majority leader, referring to him as a minority leader.

While they taunted Gbajabiamila, they “promoted” the Deputy minority leader, Hon. Chukwuka Onyema who has been the Acting Minority Leader in the absence of Hon. Leo Ogor.