Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


UPDATED: Buhari Sends List Of New Ministerial Nominees To Senate


June 21, (THEWILL) – President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate, seeking the confirmation of seven ministerial nominees.

The names of the nominees are contained in a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan.

The letter read at plenary on Tuesday says: “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I, hereby, forward the under-listed ministerial nominees for your confirmation.

“The nominees are: Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State; Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State; Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State; Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State; Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State; Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State and Odum Odih – Rivers State.”

The Senate has, however, not fixed a date yet for the screening exercise.

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has nominated Senator Philip Aduda, as the new minority leader to fill the vacant seat created by Senator Enyinnaya Abariba’s defection.

Also, the party nominated Senator Chukwuka Utazi, as the new senate minority whip.