BREAKING: Ahmed Lawan Wins, Next Senate President

Senator Ahmed Lawan

BEVERLY HILLS, June 11, (THEWILL) –┬áSenator Ahmed Lawan has crossed the threshold of 54 votes required to win the election as President of the 9th Senate.

There are 109 Senate seats but only 107 were present at the inauguration.

This meant that the winner only required an absolute majority of 54 votes to win.

Lawan has crossed the threshold leading to jubilation by APC senators.

At the end of counting, Lawan garnered 79 votes while his challenger, Ali Ndume polled 28 votes.