APC NWC Clears Nine For Kogi Governorship Primary, Seven Fail

APC-chairman-Adams-Oshiomhole (M) chairs a meeting of the party's Exco recently.

SAN FRANCISCO, August 27, (THEWILL) – The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) says it has deliberated on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants and thus approved nine aspirants for the primary election, while seven aspirants failed the screening exercise.

The party’s spokesman, Lanre Issa-Onilu in a statement late Tuesday said: “After a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine aspirants were finally cleared to contest the August 29, 2019 Indirect Governorship primary. Seven other aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise.

NWC Decisions


1. Yahaya Bello (incumbent).

2. Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim

3. Yahaya Odidi Audu

4. Sani Lulu Abdullahi

5. Engr. Abubakar Bashir

6. Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed

7. Yakubu Mohammed

8. Hassan Abdullahi

9. Ekele Aishat Blessing


1. Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili

2. Usman Oyibe Jibrin

3. Mustapha Mona Audu

4. Rukkaya Ibrahim

5. Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa

6. Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera

7. Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu.”