Ambrose Alli, Enahoro, Others Get Presidential Pardon

Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola

BEVERLY HILLS, April 09, (THEWILL) – President Muhammadu Buhari Thursday granted presidential pardon to a former Governor of old Bendel state, late Prof. Ambrose Alli, renowned nationalist, late Chief Anthony, ex Lt. Col. Moses Effiong, Major E.J. Olanrewaju and Ajayi Olusola Babalola.

Interior minister, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola announced the development Thursday in a briefing in Abuja alongside Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami and Information Minister, Alhaji Lai Mohammed.

“I am pleased to inform you that five ex-convicts recommended for presidential pardon have been so pardoned. They are late Prof Ambrose Ali, Late Chief Anthony Enahoro, ex Lt. Col. Moses Effiong, Major E.J. Olanrewaju and Ajayi Olusola Babalola. Prof Ali was the governor of the old Bendel State in the Second Republic (1978-1983) and a great progressive while Chief Enahoro was a foremost nationalist who moved the motion for Nigeria’s independence.

ALSO READ: COVID-19: Nigeria Grants Amnesty To 2,600 Prisoners

“I must thank and commend President Muhammadu Buhari for demonstrating great statesmanship by pardoning these people who were part of the great Nigerian history”, the Minister said.

According to Aregbesola, who had previously served as Governor of Osun State, 70 inmates in the Kuje custodian centre Abuja were also granted pardon in a bid to drastically decongest the correctional facility to help ease the spread of the deadly COVID-19 disease.

He added that the Presidential pardon followed recommendations to the President by a Presidential Committee after taking the pandemic into consideration. The release of certain categories of inmates is expected to be nationwide as state governments have the powers to pardon inmates as well.