Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads


Aishatu Binani, Gawuna, Danmarke Win Guber Tickets

Aishatu Binani
Senator Aishatu Binani

May 27, (THEWILL) – Senator Aishatu Binani has won the Adamawa State All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship Primary.

Senator Binani defeated former Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) boss, Nuhu Ribadu and former Governor, Umaru Jubrilla Bindo, to pick the coveted ticket.

Meanwhile, the incumbent deputy governor of Kano state, Dr Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna, has won the APC Governorship Primary Election for the State.

Gawuna, who had before now secured the approval of his principal, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, as a successor, pulled a landslide victory over his lone opponent, Sha’aban Ibrahim Sharada, at the Sani Abacha Sports Complex, Kofar Mata, Kano.

Senator Tijjani Yahaya Kaura, the Chairman, Kano Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee, said Gawuna polled 2,289 votes, while the other aspirant Sha’aban garnered 30 votes.

According to Kaura, total number of delegates accredited for the exercise was 2,420′ Adding that total votes cast was 2,339, while the invalid votes totalled 20.

“I Sen.Tijjani Yahaya Kaura, Chairman of Kano APC Governorship Primary Election Committee, on behalf of the National working committee of our party, hereby announce that result for this election have been collated and counted accordingly. I hereby certified that Dr Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner.

“He is, therefore, the standard flag bearer of the APC in the Gubernatorial election that will take place in 2023 in Kano State”, he said

In his remarks, the APC Gubernatorial Candidate, Dr Gawuna, thanked Allah for the victory.

Gawuna, who appreciated the support of Governor Ganduje, the party leaders and delegates, appealed to all party members to join hands and work hard towards the success and victory of the APC during the general elections.

On his part, Governor Abdullahi Ganduje commended the election committee for a thorough and transparent exercise.

The primary election was supervised by the representatives of the Independent National Electoral Commission, the Police and the Department of State Security (DSS).

In a related development, Senator Yakubu Lado Danmarke has emerged the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) gubernatorial primary election held on Thursday in Katsina.

Announcing the result, the Electoral Committee chairman, Chika Nwozuzu, declared Senator Danmarke winner with 740 votes to beat his rivals, Hon. Salisu Yusuf Majigiri, who polled 257 votes; Architect Ahmed Yar’Adua, who scored 53 votes, and Hon. Shehu Inuwa Imam, who scored 44 votes.

Out of total of 1,117 delegates drawn across the 34 local government areas of the State, 1,108 delegates were accredited, 10 invalid votes were recorded, while four delegates abstained from voting after accreditation.

Danmarke, a businessman, was born in 1961. He became a Member of the House of Representatives from 2003–2007 and was elected a Senator in April 2007 for Katsina South senatorial district of Katsina State on the platform of the PDP.