Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads aiteo  

Buhari Appoints Murtala Kankia, Four Others As Members Of CCB


January 24, (THEWILL) – President Muhammadu Buhari has written the senate, requesting the confirmation of Murtala Kankia and four others as members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB).

In a letter read by Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on the floor of the red chamber on Tuesday, Buhari asked the lawmakers to confirm the nominees.

“In compliance with section 541 of the 1999 constitution as amended and in pursuant to sections 1(2) and 1(3) of the code of conduct bureau act LFN 2004, I write to request for the confirmation of the following nominees for appointment as members of the bureau”, the letter read in part.

The nominees are Murtala A. Kankia from Katsina, to represent (North West); Zephaniah Ishaku Bulus from Nasarawa, to represent (North Central) and Farouq Umar from Yobe State, to represent (North East).

Others are Abdulsalam Taofiq Olawale from Ondo State, to represent (South West) and Prof. Juwayriya Badamasiuy from Kogi State, to represent (North Central).

In another development, President Buhari also forwarded two names to be confirmed as Resident Electoral Commissioners for Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The new appointees are Dr Mahmuda Isah from Kebbi state, whose appointment is for renewal and Dr Mann Omobayi Alli from Ondo State, who is for a new appointment.

President Buhari urged the Senate to consider and confirm all the appointments in the usual expeditious manner.